Leadership team

Learn more about the Chief Executive and Directors of Environment Canterbury.

Ecan Stefanie Rixecker 430x624

Stefanie Rixecker

Chief Executive

Stefanie was appointed Chief Executive in August 2020. She has an impressive background in leadership and management, with more than a dozen governance roles – in education, primary industry and more. Stefanie was previously Director of Science and has led the Science team, the Freshwater portfolio and the Climate Change Integration programme.

Stefanie has valued and strong relationships with Ngāi Tahu Papatipu Rūnanga, Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, territorial authorities, stakeholders, Ministers, Ministries and central government departments.

 Contact Stefanie Rixecker

Kathryn Trought2

Katherine Trought

Director Strategy and Planning

As the Strategy and Planning Director, Katherine is responsible for providing strong and dynamic leadership of the group, ensuring the organisation has a clear strategic direction with defined priorities and integrated work programmes. The team is also responsible for creating a robust planning framework that enables the Canterbury community to thrive. 

 Contact Katherine Trought

Miles McConway

Miles McConway

Director Finance and Corporate Services

Miles looks after the corporate support functions of Environment Canterbury including the enabling technologies we use, the financial resources required and the business support functions that support the delivery parts of our organisation.

 Contact Miles McConway

Ecan Nadeine Dommisse high res

Nadeine Dommisse

Chief Operating Officer

Nadeine is responsible for delivering efficient services and outcomes to our regional communities. This includes public transport, zone support, resource consents, compliance, enforcement, biodiversity, biosecurity, river engineering, harbourmaster and regional depots.

 Contact Nadeine Dommisse

Tafflyn Bradford James

Tafflyn Bradford-James

Director Communications and Engagement

As Director, Communications and Engagement, Tafflyn leads a team dedicated to informing and engaging the community around the regional council’s responsibilities, including the challenges and opportunities for water management, the relationships between land use and environmental quality, and how poor air quality can be improved.

 Contact Tafflyn Bradford-James

Ecan Tim Davie

Tim Davie

Director, Science

As Director, Science, Tim manages the Science Group, with a vision to deliver the right science, at the right time and in the right way for the benefit of our communities and the environment.

 Contact Tim Davie