Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson elected at inaugural meeting of new council

Today, the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson have been elected at the inaugural meeting of Environment Canterbury's Council. 

Christchurch North-East – Ōrei Regional Councillor Jenny Hughey has been elected chair of Environment Canterbury at the inaugural meeting of the new term this morning.  

South Canterbury – Ōtuhituhi councillor Peter Scott, deputy chair during the last triennium, was re-elected to the role after a vote tied 7-7 saw his name drawn ahead of North Canterbury – Ōpukepuke councillor Claire McKay, who had also been nominated.  

Cr Hughey was the only nomination for chair. She has a master's degree in law and has spent 11 years in governance and community support and leadership roles at Christchurch City Council, and has been an Environmental Inquiry Commissioner.

Cr Scott is a mixed-crop farmer. As well as deputy chair, Cr Scott also had portfolio responsibilities for Air Quality, Regional Transport and Freshwater during the last triennium.  

Cr Scott was nominated for deputy by Christchurch Central – Ōhoko councillor Lan Pham and seconded by Christchurch South – Ōwhanga councillor Vicky Southworth.

Cr McKay was nominated for deputy chair by Mid Canterbury – Ōpakihi councillor John Sunckell and seconded by Christchurch South – Ōwhanga councillor Phil Clearwater.  

Following a mihi whakatau to formally welcome the new council at Environment Canterbury’s Christchurch office this morning, Councillors were sworn in, with the adoption of standing orders and election of the chair and deputy the only order of business for the inaugural meeting.

The Council will next meet on 14 November.

View a list of confirmed candidates for Environment Canterbury's Council 2019 elections.

Watch the full council meeting