Play your part and join your local water zone committee

Want to have a say in the future of your local water resource? Apply to become a water zone committee member.


Community zone committee members are being sought in: Ashburton, Banks Peninsula, Christchurch West Melton, Kaikōura, Lower Waitaki, Ōrāri Temuka Ōpihi Pareora, Selwyn Waihora, Upper Waitaki, and Waimakariri.

If you're passionate about the protection of Canterbury's precious water resource, now is the time to join.

What does a water zone committee do?

OTOP committee supports The Pines Wetland in the Tūhaitara Coastal Park Taniwha Gully rock art site

OTOP committee supports the precious Taniwha Gully rock art site near Pleasant Point

Water zone committees work with councils and other organisations to develop solutions that deliver the community’s aspirations for water in their zone, as outlined in the collaborative Canterbury Water Management Strategy (CWMS).

Committees are made up of people with a wide range of interests in water who have a strong connection to the zone. They meet monthly for formal public meetings, workshops, or field trips. Members are compensated for their time and expenses.

They facilitate community engagement, provide advice to councils, work with stakeholders to support local projects, and make an on-the-ground impact.

Committees support local projects

Each of Canterbury’s water zone committees has an action plan which outlines how they will work with the community to deliver their aspirations for freshwater as outlined in the CWMS.

Committees were provided with an Action Plan Budget through the 2021-2024 Long Term Plan, to support projects in their zones which help meet the CWMS targets and advance their Action Plans.

Read our latest news for each zone

Waimakariri committee visiting The Pines Wetland in the Tūhaitara Coastal Park

Waimakariri committee visiting The Pines Wetland in the Tūhaitara Coastal Park

Application close Monday 30 May 2022

Apply now