New community members announced for North Canterbury water zone committees

Three new community members appointed to the Hurunui Waiau Water Zone Committee are expected to provide a fresh perspective to water issues in the new year.

John Preece, Josh Dondertman and Julia McLean will join the Hurunui Waiau Water Zone Committee in the new year.

John Preece has lived in the Hurunui district for the past 20 years. He owns a small commercial flower garden and enjoys outdoor activities such as hunting, tramping and duck shooting. John is currently the project coordinator for the Hutton's Shearwater Charitable Trust and has worked for Marlborough, Tasman, and Greater Wellington councils as well as a consultant for the Department of Conservation and Environment Canterbury. He brings with him a strong commitment and experience in wetland conservation

Josh Dondertman is experienced in dealing with large corporate agricultural businesses. As managing director of Pahau Flats Dairy Ltd, Caithness Dairy Ltd and Craigmore Farming Ltd, Josh is particularly passionate about encouraging farmers in the area of good management practice and seeing the area improved.

Julia McLean is a former broadcast journalist with TVNZ and the New Zealand Broadcasting School. She is a current Hurunui District councillor, member of the Public Services Committee, Youth Council, chair of the Hurunui Road Safety Committee, and chair of the Amberley Domain Advisory Committee. Her concern about the future of local waterways and desire to be part of the solution led her to apply for the zone committee.

Lincoln University professor Ken Hughey was reappointed in the latest refresh having served on the committee since its inception in 2010.

Meanwhile Nicky McArthur and Teri Sonal were reappointed as community members to the Kaikoura Water Zone Committee, while former runanga representative Gina Solomon has now become a community member on the zone committee. For more information on these members click here.

About water zone committees

Canterbury has ten water zone committees and one Regional Committee which were established in 2010 and 2011. The committees are joint committees of local councils and Environment Canterbury and include community members and rūnanga representation. The committees recommend actions and tactics to councils and other organisations that are involved in water management.

Water Zone Committee members are chosen to represent a wide range of interests in water and who have a strong connection to their zone. The zone committee refresh process replaces or renews community members whose three-year term is completed.