Meet your zone representatives

The Christchurch West Melton water zone committee is a joint committee of Christchurch City Council, Selwyn District Council and Environment Canterbury. 

The committee's role is to work with the community to develop actions and tactics to deliver on the Canterbury Water Management Strategy. It recommends these actions and tactics to various agencies for implementation.

 View members

Community members
Abbie Wilson

Abbie Wilson has a Bachelor of Natural Resources Engineering Degree and is employed at AECOM. In her role as a Civil Engineer in the water team she has exposure to many different water and environment-based projects.

She enjoys the outdoors and wishes to protect waterways and hopes to achieve this ambition by joining the zone committee.

Kevin Brown - Chair

Kevin Brown is a geochemist who has done considerable consulting work within New Zealand and overseas.

He has worked in the geothermal industry since 1980, initially with the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR) at the Wairakei Research Centre, then with GNS and Auckland University’s Geothermal Institute, and finally as a full time consultant and partner in GEOKEM.  

He has a keen interest in improving water management in both urban and rural areas around Christchurch.

Annabelle Hasselman - Deputy Chair

Annabelle Hasselman is a stay-at-home mother to 4 children. She has a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Post Graduate Diploma in Landscape Architecture.

Annabelle has previously worked for Department of Conservation in Hokitika and Wellington. She is currently the Chair of the Ōpāwaho Heathcote River Network.

Helen Caley

Helen Caley is a senior Environmental Planner at Aurecon, whose work involves both environmental planning and advising on contaminated land.

In previous years, Helen has been a Consents Planner at ECan, where she negotiated a set of agreed maintenance conditions between ECan and key City and District Councils for use on stormwater consents, and more recently a Consents and Compliance Advisor with Auckland Council.

In 2013 Helen was seconded to Environment Canterbury to implement a shared services programme, which provided several District Councils with technical advice on resource consents involving contaminated sites.

Gareth Oddy

Gareth Oddy is an Environmental Scientist with ENGEO; an environmental consultancy agency.

He has worked with contaminated land assessments, stormwater and erosion control, sediment contamination assessments, environmental forensics and hydrology.

He recently completed sediment contamination assessments in the Heathcote River on behalf of Christchurch City Council.

In previous employment, Gareth has worked for industry sectors
that include chemical manufacturing, waste management, property development, heavy and light manufacturing, transport, downstream oil and gas, printing and packaging, timber treatment and defence.

Carly Sluys

Carly Sluys comes from a farming background and is now an Environmental Data Analyst with Beef + Lamb NZ, where she collects and models real farm data in Overseer and Farmax.

Her key skills include understanding political and policy processes, environmental data analysis and modelling, collaborative engagement and relationship management.

Carly’s industry involvement has included many aspects of the agricultural industry, including working on her family’s farms, policy advising, leading a team of Federated Farmers members and volunteers in the Farmy Army earthquake response (which earned her a Christchurch City Council Earthquake Award in 2012), account managing and environmental data analysis.

Oscar Bloom - Youth Representative

Oscar is a student at St Andrews College and a member of the Environment Canterbury Youth Rōpū.

He is a youth representative on the Water Zone Committee to ensure the youth voice is heard, to make change and help influence outcomes, and that ties in with his passion for the environment and its continued sustainability.

"The streams we swim in, mountains we trek, forests we camp in are all so important to the Kiwi way of life. If they deteriorate and if our environmental practices continue the way they are generations in the future will experience a radically different environment to the one we have today. I want to be involved to help influence decision makers to make the choice that helps us in the future to sustain our environment, not just ones that solve issues now."

Rūnanga representatives
Arapata Reuben - Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga

Arapata has strong historical family ties with Christchurch waterways.  His great-great great grandfather Te Muru was a Kaitiaki (guardian) for the Heathcote / Opawaho River.  

Arapata and his family, who live in Tuahiwi, still have a deep sense of belonging with the natural environment and its ability to nourish whānau.  

Arapata is currently employed with Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu as the Kāiarahi Whakapapa in the Whakapapa Unit.

Les Wanhalla - Te Taumutu Rūnanga
Les has been a representative on the Christchurch West Melton and Selwyn Waihora zone committees for the past 5 years.
Les' aspirations are to help improve the biodiversity from Ki uta ki tai (from the mountains to the sea) and to have safe wai (water) for his mokopuna (grandchildren) and future generations to drink and play in.
Kakati Te Kakakura Royal- Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke

 Kakati is currently in his final year of study towards a bachelor's degree in Civi Engineering with Honours and a diploma in Global Humanitarian Engineering.

He strongly believes that he will add value from representing Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke on the Christchurch West Melton Zone Committee due to his passion and expertise he has for water.  Kakati believes he will make an impact on the committee and deliver for his community, tamariki and mokopuna.


Council appointments
  • Selwyn District Council - Cr Sophie McInnes
  • Christchurch City Council - Cr James Daniels
Environment Canterbury appointment
  • Cr Phil Clearwater

Meet your zone delivery team

We deliver work related to the zone committee's recommendations through an on-the-ground team made up of Environment Canterbury staff. Watch the video to learn more about zone delivery in Canterbury.

The Christchurch West Melton water zone delivery team is:

  • Johannes Welsch Zone Lead
  • Jenny Watters  Pollution Prevention Officer
  • Nick Moody  Pollution Prevention Officer
  • TBA Community Engagement Facilitator
  • Kate Hunt - Biodiversity Officer
  • Duncan Harvest  Resource Management Officer - Monitoring and Compliance
  • Chris Elsmore  Resource Management Officer - Monitoring and Compliance
  • Iain Beaton  Resource Management Officer - Monitoring and Compliance
  • Martin Rutledge - Land Management Advisor
  • Emily McLaughlin  Compliance Officer
  • Emma Parr — Incident Response Officer

Talk to us

TBA— Zone Manager     027 529 7761

Shelley Washington - Facilitator    027 294 5219

Stephen Bragg — Tangata Whenua Facilitator     027 487 3892

How are zone committee members selected?

Water zone committee members are appointed after councils advertise for expressions of interest from the community.

Applicants are assessed on skills, expertise and experience, as well as their ability to work together to develop water management solutions to economic, social, cultural and environmental issues.

Each water zone committee has between seven and 10 members, including:

  • An Environment Canterbury appointee
  • A local territorial authority councillor
  • A rūnanga appointee
  • Between four and six local members nominated from the community who come from a variety of backgrounds and interests.

Members serve for three years, meeting every few weeks to gather information from stakeholders and the community to ensure all interests are represented.