Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury water zone committee

The Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury water zone committee is a joint committee of Waimate District Council, Waitaki District Council and Environment Canterbury. The zone is in the rohe of Kāti Huirapa.

The committee's role is to work with the community to develop actions and tactics to deliver on the Canterbury Water Management Strategy.

It recommends these actions and tactics to various agencies for implementation, including councils, through a Zone Implementation Programme (ZIP).

The Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury water zone committee has been operating since 2010 is now overseeing the ZIP's implementation, along with several addenda, ensuring the integration of agency work and resolving any ongoing resource management dilemmas.

It meets monthly on the third Wednesday of each month and meetings are open to the public.

View members

Community members
Bruce Murphy

Bruce Murphy is a second generation farmer who runs a large scale farming business in the Glenavy and Otaio areas, employing upwards of 25 workers. He was a member of the Nutrient Allocation Reference Group (NARG), Federated Farmers, DairyNZ and many other organisations.

His community representation includes serving as Glenavy Board of Trustees Chairman, Glenavy Pool Trust Chairman, member of NARG, and member of the Waimate Vet Trust.

Jen Fellowes

Jen Fellowes has built a strong association with the Waitaki catchment through various irrigation companies and societies over the past six years including Kurow Duntroon Irrigation Company, Waitaki Irrigators Collective, Maerewhenua District Water Resource Company, Waitaki Independent Irrigators and Morven Glenavy Ikawai Irrigation Company. She has a Bachelor of Science and recently completed a PG Cert in Environmental Management. She has developed a strong connection to not only South Canterbury and the Lower Waitaki River, but also recognising the relevance and importance of ki uta ki tai, valuing the Waitaki River Catchment as a whole. She has a young family and lives in North Otago.

Jakki Guildford - Chair

Jakki Guilford currently works for the Waimate District Resource Trust and has previously served as a Councillor on the Waimate District Council. She is passionate about community engagement and has previously been on the Lower Waitaki Zone Committee.

Jonnie Rutherford

Jonnie Rutherford has an extensive background in conservation across the country with an interest in waterfowl and native fish. Living in the region, she volunteers at Waimate eco-sanctuary and supports QEⅡ Trust with identification of plants, particularly rare or endangered.

Brent Packham

Brent Packman is a retired teacher who lives on the outskirts of Waimate. He is an active member of the Waimate Rod and Gun Club, the Lower Waitaki River Management Society, and the Riparian River Management Society. He has extensive knowledge of fisheries and recreational activities within the zone and is a founding Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury Zone Committee member.

Fraser McKenzie

Fraser McKenzie is a Chartered Accountant and a partner in an accountancy firm in Oamaru. As the Independent Chair of Waitaki Irrigators Collective he understands issues relating to water and the environment.

Victoria Magazinovic - Deputy Chair

Victoria recently moved to the Esk Valley area and is a farm manager for Rooney Farms Ltd overseeing the performance of 90,000 stock units and 3600 dairy cows spread across Canterbury. She has a Bachelor of Applied Science in Agriculture and Rural Valuation from Massey University, as well as having completed the Advanced Sustainable Nutrient Management course. Victoria also enjoys spending a significant amount of time tramping, hunting on horses, biking, and generally enjoying the natural environment of the region.

Rūnanga representatives

Vacant - Te Rūnanga o Moeraki

Suzanne Eddington - Te Rūnanga o Waihao

Michael McMillan - Te Rūnanga o Arowhenua 

Mai I te po, ki te whāiao ki te ao mārama.
Ka rēre te manu ki te taumata o Aoraki.
Kā rēre te wairua o te whenua.
Kā rēre te wairua o te takata.
Tae noā, ki Kāti Huirapa, ki Arowhenua.
Tihei mauri ora
Tihei mauri ora.

Ko au te uri o ngā iwi o Hawea, Rapuai, Waitaha, Kati Mamoe, Ngāi Tahu, MacMillan clan.
No Te umu kaha au
Ko Arowhenua toku tūrangawaewae
Ko michael McMillan toku ingoa
Tēnā koutou katoa.

I am the current Arowhenua Rūnanga representative on the zone committee and have recently been selected and subsequently appointed as chair by my fellow committee members.

Council appointments
  • Cr Jim Hopkins - Waitaki District Council

  • Deputy Mayor Sharyn Cain - Waimate District Council

Environment Canterbury appointment
  • Cr David East

View agendas and meeting papers

How are zone committee members selected?

Water zone committee members are appointed after councils advertise for expressions of interest from the community.

Applicants are assessed on skills, expertise and experience, as well as their ability to work together to develop water management solutions to economic, social, cultural and environmental issues.

Each water zone committee has between seven and 10 members, including:

  • An Environment Canterbury appointee
  • A local territorial authority councillor
  • A rūnanga appointee
  • Between four and six local members nominated from the community who come from a variety of backgrounds and interests.

Members serve for three years, meeting every few weeks to gather information from stakeholders and the community to ensure all interests are represented.

See our video about managing water in Canterbury.

Zone committee key resources

Download key documents developed by the committee, and view meeting minutes, agendas and presentations: