Lower Waitaki Water Zone Committee

The Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury water zone committee is a joint committee of Waimate District Council, Waitaki District Council and Environment Canterbury. The zone is in the rohe of Kāti Huirapa.

The committee's role is to work with the community to develop actions and tactics to deliver on the Canterbury Water Management Strategy.

It recommends these actions and tactics to various agencies for implementation, including councils, through a Zone Implementation Programme (ZIP).

The Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury water zone committee has been operating since 2010 is now overseeing the ZIP's implementation, along with several addenda, ensuring the integration of agency work and resolving any ongoing resource management dilemmas.

It meets monthly on the third Wednesday of each month and meetings are open to the public.

 View members

Community members
Bruce Murphy - Chair

Bruce Murphy is a second generation farmer who runs a large scale farming business in the Glenavy and Otaio areas, employing upwards of 25 workers. He was a member of the Nutrient Allocation Reference Group(NARG), Federated Farmers, DairyNZ and many other organisations.

His community representation includes serving as Glenavy Board of Trustees Chairman, Glenavy Pool Trust Chairman, member of NARG, and member of the Waimate Vet Trust.

Jared Ross - Deputy Chair

Jared Ross is a mixed livestock farmer in the Kurow Duntroon Irrigation Company (KDIC) expansion command area in the Waitaki Valley. Recently Jared has been appointed on the KDIC board. He is currently Chairman of Federated Farmers North Otago Dairy and has previously been a volunteer in the local fire brigade. Jared is also a member of the CSI Beef and Lamb Farmer council.

He has a Bachelor Agricultural Commerce (Farm Management). Jared believes strongly in the importance of environmentally responsible agriculture.

Jakki Guildford

Jakki Guilford  currently works for the Waimate District Resource Trust and has previously served as a Councillor on the Waimate District Council.  She is passionate about community engagement and has previously been on the Lower Waitaki Zone Committee.

Jonnie Rutherford

Jonnie Rutherford has an extensive background in conservation across the country with an interest in waterfowl and native fish. Living in the region, she volunteers at Waimate eco-sanctuary and supports QEII Trust with identification of plants, particularly rare or endangered.

Brent Packham

Brent Packman is a retired teacher who lives on the outskirts of Waimate.  He is an active member of the Waimate Rod and Gun Club, the Lower Waitaki River Management Society, and the Riparian River Management Society.  He has extensive knowledge of fisheries and recreational activities within the zone and is a founding Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury Zone Committee member.

Fraser McKenzie

Fraser McKenzie is a Chartered Accountant and a partner in an accountancy firm in Oamaru.  As the Independent Chair of Waitaki Irrigators Collective he understands issues relating to water and the environment.

Rūnanga representatives
  • Keiran Whyte - Te Rūnanga o Moeraki
  • Suzanne Eddington - Te Rūnanga o Waihao
  • Michael McMillan - Te Rūnanga o Arowhenua
Council appointments
  • Cr Jim Hopkins - Waitaki District Council

  • Cr Fabia Fox - Waimate District Council

Environment Canterbury appointment
  • Cr Nicole Marshall

View agendas and meeting papers

How are zone committee members selected?

Water zone committee members are appointed after councils advertise for expressions of interest from the community.

Applicants are assessed on skills, expertise and experience, as well as their ability to work together to develop water management solutions to economic, social, cultural and environmental issues.

Each water zone committee has between seven and 10 members, including:

  • An Environment Canterbury appointee
  • A local territorial authority councillor
  • A rūnanga appointee
  • Between four and six local members nominated from the community who come from a variety of backgrounds and interests.

Members serve for three years, meeting every few weeks to gather information from stakeholders and the community to ensure all interests are represented.

See our video about managing water in Canterbury(external link).

Upcoming meetings and agendas

The Lower Waitaki water zone committee meets on the third Wednesday of each month and meetings are open to the public.