Meet your zone representatives

The Selwyn Waihora water zone committee is a joint committee of Selwyn District Council, Christchurch City Council and Environment Canterbury.

It is in the rohe of Wairewa, Rāpaki, Taumutu, Tūāhuriri, Koukourārata and Ōnuku rūnanga.

The committee's role is to work with the community to develop actions and tactics to deliver on the Canterbury Water Management Strategy.

It recommends these actions and tactics to various agencies for implementation.

View zone committee members

Community members
Annie McLaren

Annie McLaren has a Diploma in Farm Management and is completing a Bachelor of Business Studies through Massey University.

She is employed as Area Manager for Synlait Milk Limited and her role involves liaising with dairy farmers around all things dairying, including the environment and Synlait’s Lead with Pride farm certification programme.

Annie would like to see positive outcomes for farmers, waterways, GHG footprint, communities and the economy

Allen Lim

Allen Lim runs a market garden business in the Springston area. He is on the Brassica Crop Advisory Group for Horticulture New Zealand.

Allen was born in China and has a young family who spend a lot of time at their local river spot, Chamberlains Ford.

Ron Pellow

Ron Pellow is a Lincoln resident and currently employed by AgResearch Limited as National Manager, Farms.

His interests include turning sunshine into food, good food – that is good for consumers, producers and the wider environment.

Formerly, Ron was Executive Director of the South Island Dairying Development Centre and through this worked with Lincoln University Dairy Farm to reduce its environmental footprint while maintaining productivity.

Paul Hodgson

Paul Hodgson runs a lawn mowing and gardening company.  Paul has been involved with water issues for many years, with a particular interest in braided rivers.

He holds committee position with the Salmon Anglers Association and with SWWIM (an active community group advocating better management of the Selwyn and Waimakariri Rivers.

Fiona McDonald - Co-Chair

Fiona McDonald works in the education and outdoors sectors. She is involved in qualification development and assessing, auditing, and supporting schools deliver quality education outside the classroom for their students.

She is co-chair of Education Outdoors NZ (EONZ) and on the board of the New Zealand Recreation Association (NZRA).

Fiona is currently a member of the Castle Hill community and is a keen advocate for the high country environment.

Simon Hay

Simon Hay is an Environmental Scientist at AECOM working in the contaminated land space.

He has previously worked in Queensland, Australia and in New Zealand's resource industry as a geologist/environmental scientist looking at water quality and acid mine drainage.

Simon has a strong interest in the quality of New Zealand freshwater ecosystems and native freshwater species as well as being a hobby trout fisherman.

Rūnanga representatives
  • Les Wanhalla (Co-Chair) - Te Taumutu Rūnanga
  • Karaitiana Taiuru -  Te Rūnanga o Koukourarata
  • Mishele Radford - Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke
  • Vacant - Ōnuku Rūnanga 
  • Benita Wakefield - Wairewa Rūnanga
  • Vacant - Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga 
Council appointments
  • Selwyn District Council - Cr Nicole Reid
  • Christchurch City Council - Cr Anne Galloway
Environment Canterbury appointment
  • Cr Vicky Southworth

Meet your zone delivery team

We deliver work related to the zone committee's recommendations through an on-the-ground team made up of Environment Canterbury staff. Watch the video to learn more about zone delivery in Canterbury.

The Selwyn Waihora water zone delivery team is:

  • Gillian Jenkins— Zone Delivery Lead
  • Sylvia McAslan — Land Management Advisor
  • Ellen Williamson — Land Management and Biodiversity Advisor
  • Angela Burton — Resource Management Officer
  • Jana Hayes — Resource Management Officer
  • Mike Seque — Resource Management Officer
  • Vacant — Pou Mātai Kō - Facilitating an Understanding of Mahinga Kai

To view contact details for all team members, click here.

Talk to us

Tami Woods — Zone Manager     027 529 7761

Miria Goodwin — Zone Facilitator     027 809 6991

Stephen Bragg — Tangata Whenua Facilitator     027 487 3892

How are zone committee members selected?

Water zone committee members are appointed after councils advertise for expressions of interest from the community.

Applicants are assessed on skills, expertise and experience, as well as their ability to work together to develop water management solutions to economic, social, cultural and environmental issues.

Each water zone committee has between seven and 10 members, including:

  • An Environment Canterbury appointee
  • A local territorial authority councillor
  • A rūnanga appointee
  • Between four and six local members nominated from the community who come from a variety of backgrounds and interests.

Members serve for three years, meeting every few weeks to gather information from stakeholders and the community to ensure all interests are represented.