Meet your water zone representatives

The Waimakariri water zone committee is a joint committee of Waimakariri District Council and Environment Canterbury. The zone is part of Ngāi Tūāhuriri's takiwa and its rivers, streams, lagoons and wetlands have always been an important place and food basket for the rūnanga.

View zone committee members

Waimakariri Zone Committee

Community members
David Ashby

David Ashby, a Fernside dairy farmer who has been Chair since April 2017, says he joined the committee to “get things done”.

Michael Blackwell — Chair
Michael Blackwell is the Working Director of Blackwells Department Store, Kaiapoi. He grew up in the area and has over 20 years of commercial work experience in marketing, sales and communication within the retail industry, bringing strategic and financial planning and promotional skills to the committee.
Cam Henderson — Deputy Chair

Cam Henderson is the owner of Henderson Farms; a 189 Ha dairy farm. He managed all aspects of converting this farm from sheep to dairy. In 2014-2015 he was a DairyNZ Feed and Farm Systems Developer. Cam brings practical and farm systems development experience to the committee, as well as financial management, project coordination and business analysis. He has an Honours degree in Mechatronic Engineering.

Dr Judith Roper-Lindsay

Judith has lived in Ashley for over 30 years and farms 20 acres on the downlands, with an ephemeral stream running through the property. She has a personal and professional interest in biodiversity and land-water management. As an ecologist she has worked as part of multi-disciplinary teams on a range of challenging projects including hydro-electric power generation and irrigation projects. Judith has also contributed her expertise to an array of projects from Environment Court mediation to community consultation on large scale projects. She is a founding member, and inaugural Chair, of Greening the Rubble Trust that formed after the September 2010 earthquakes, a former member of the NZ Conservation Authority, and is a volunteer mentor for Big Brother Big Sister North Canterbury, and the Garden to Table programme.

Carolyne Latham

For a number of years now Carolyne has worked as a Service Provider on contract to Land Information New Zealand doing High country Tenure Review; a process under the Crown Pastoral Land Act which enables high country Crown pastoral land with conservation values to be freed from the lease and retained in crown ownership as public conservation land. In addition, she has owned and operated a sheep and beef farm with her husband for over 25 years. In recent years Carolyne has attended a number of courses on sustainable farming.

Erin Harvie
Erin Harvie is an environmental consultant and resident of Kaiapoi. Erin has worked within the Waimakariri District for most of her professional career.
As an environmental consultant, Erin is familiar with planning requirements and has a comprehensive understanding of CWMS targets
Wendy Main
Wendy Main is a farmer and resident of View Hill. Wendy’s background as a registered nurse brings health considerations into the mix and being a family orientated person, she has a sense of generational expectations and considerations.
Wendy has a strong understanding of working within the collaborative process, this ability is critical for this implementation phase of the ZIP over the next three years.
Rūnanga representatives
  • Arapata Reuben -  Te Ngāi Tuahuriri Rūnanga

  • John Cooke - Te Ngāi  Tuahuriri Rūnanga
Council appointment
  • Sandra Stewart - Waimakariri District Council
Environment Canterbury appointment
  • Cr Megan Hands

Meet your zone delivery team

We deliver work related to the zone committee's recommendations through an on-the-ground team made up of Environment Canterbury staff. Watch the video to learn more about zone delivery in Canterbury.

The Waimakariri water zone delivery team are:

  • Andrew Arps — Zone Manager

  • Marco Cataloni — Senior Resource Management Officer

  • Zipporah Ploeg — Biodiversity Officer

  • Anna Veltman — Land Management Advisor

  • Paul Dahl - Senior Resource Management Officer Monitoring and Compliance
  • Joe Jagusch - Resource Management Officer Monitoring and Compliance
  • Kiri Kirkwood -  Resource Management Officer Incident Response
  • Nathan Dougherty - Senior Resource Management Officer Incident Response
  • Maki Norman - Resource Management Officer Monitoring and Compliance
  • Sam Thompson - Land Management Advisor

Talk to us

Andrew Arps — Zone Manager     027 554 4007

Murray Griffin — Zone Facilitator     027 705 4798

Stephen Bragg — Tangata Whenua Facilitator     027 487 3892

How are zone committee members selected?

Water zone committee members are appointed after councils advertise for expressions of interest from the community.

Applicants are assessed on skills, expertise and experience, as well as their ability to work together to develop water management solutions to economic, social, cultural and environmental issues.

Each water zone committee has between seven and 10 members, including:

  • An Environment Canterbury appointee
  • A local territorial authority councillor
  • A rūnanga appointee
  • Between four and six local members nominated from the community who come from a variety of backgrounds and interests.

Members serve for three years, meeting every few weeks to gather information from stakeholders and the community to ensure all interests are represented.