Meet your water zone committee

The Ōrāri Temuka Ōpihi Pareora water zone committee is a joint committee of Timaru District Council, Mackenzie District Council and Environment Canterbury. It is in the rohe of Arowhenua rūnanga.

The committee's role is to work with the community to develop actions and tactics to deliver on the Canterbury Water Management Strategy.

It recommends these actions and tactics to various agencies for implementation.

How are zone committee members selected?

Water zone committee members are appointed after councils advertise for expressions of interest from the community.

Applicants are assessed on skills, expertise and experience, as well as their ability to work together to develop water management solutions to economic, social, cultural and environmental issues.

Each water zone committee has between seven and 10 members, including:

  • An Environment Canterbury appointee
  • A local territorial authority councillor
  • A rūnanga appointee
  • Between four and six local members nominated from the community who come from a variety of backgrounds and interests.

Members serve for three years, meeting every few weeks to gather information from stakeholders and the community to ensure all interests are represented.

View members

Community members

Glen Smith - Chair

Glen Smith has been on the Ōrāri Temuka Ōpihi Pareora (OTOP) Zone Committee since 2017 and is the Chair of the Lower Ōrāri Catchment Group. He lives in the Peel Forest area and farms between the Rangitata and Ōrāri Rivers.

Chris Konings - Deputy Chair

Chris has a keen interest in the environment, a BSc in Biology, and tertiary qualifications in Theology. He completed a Master's in Environmental Policy and Management in 2022. Chris lives in Timaru and has worked with Waterwatch Trust alongside roles for the district council. He was also instrumental in establishing Predator Free Timaru. Chris now works for the Sustainable South Canterbury Trust as a biodiversity facilitator on a pilot program funded by the Ministry for the Environment (MfE) and Mid & South Canterbury Trust.

Suzanne Eddington

Suzanne lives in Timaru and has a connection to all local waterways and Waitaki in particular. She is the Te Rūnanga o Waihao representative on the Lower Waitaki South Coastal Canterbury Zone Committee. Suzanne currently has several public health roles including on the Clinical Governance Board and the Māori Health Advisory Group. She hopes her background in science and Mātauranga Māori concepts can help build understanding across different community interests and catchments.

Bailey Lissington

Bailey has grown up in Timaru and has been a youth representative on the zone committee for the last two years. A former deputy head boy at Timaru Boys High School, Bailey is currently undertaking a degree in Engineering. He is concerned about the declining trends in local waterways, and the traditions of mahinga kai.

Bryan Bassett-Smith

Rūnanga representatives

  • John Henry - Te Rūnanga o Arowhenua
  • Vacant - Te Rūnanga o Waihao

Council appointments

  • Cr Michelle Pye - Timaru District Council

  • Cr Phillipa Guerin - Mackenzie District Council

  • Deputy Mayor Sharyn Cain - Waimate District Council

Environment Canterbury representative

  • Cr Deon Swiggs
Orari-Temuka-Opihi-Pareora Water Zone Committee

Back row from left: Cr Phillipa Guerin (Mackenzie District Council), John Henry (Te Rūnanga o Arowhenua), Glen Smith (Chair, Community Member), Cr Dion Swiggs (Environment Canterbury), Cr Sharyn Cain (Deputy Mayor, Waimate District Council) Front row from left: Rynee de Garnham (Te Rūnanga o Waihao), Suzanne Eddington (Community Member), Cr Michelle Pye (Timaru District Council), Dave Moore (Facilitator), Chris Konings (Deputy Chair, Community Member) Not present: Bailey Lissington (Community Member)

Zone committee key resources

Download key documents developed by the committee, and view meeting minutes, agendas and presentations:

Zone committee recommendations

The OTOP Water Zone Committee has developed a package of recommendations called a Zone Implementation Programme Addendum (ZIPA), for regulatory and non-statutory actions to improve water quality and quantity, as well as biodiversity and tāngata whenua values in the zone.

Read the OTOP water zone recommendations for action to improve local water quality and quantity as part of the Healthy Catchments Project.

Download documents