Christchurch West Melton Water Zone Committee

The Christchurch West Melton Water Zone Committee is a joint committee of Environment Canterbury, Christchurch City Council and Selwyn District Council. Three rūnanga consider the zone part of their takiwā – Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga, Te Hapū ō Ngāti Wheke/Rāpaki and Te Taumutu Rūnanga.

Our actions

The committee works with community members and groups to implement water management work programmes in the Christchurch West Melton area - see the committee's Action Plan.

Stay updated:

View members

Community members


Mike Patchett 

Mike is the current Chairperson of the Water and Wildlife Habitat Trust and has professional experience in environmental management, catchment management and leading community environmental groups in Australia, Papua New Guinea and New Zealand. Mike is also a Trustee of the Eco Action Nursery Trust, supporting schools to grow eco sourced endemic plants for the red zone.

Mike grew up in Australia and lives in Christchurch.

Brynlea Stocks

Brynlea has qualifications in sustainability and outdoor education with a good understanding of behaviour change. She did a research dissertation on the motivators and barriers that students find when implementing pro-environmental behaviour.

She has professional experience in resource management. Brynlea has been involved in community gardens and has youth leadership skills.

Brynlea grew up in Christchurch, lives in Christchurch and enjoys the outdoors.

Helen Rutter

Helen has a long-standing interest and professional involvement in groundwater and is a hydrogeologist. She has an understanding of Christchurch and Canterbury groundwater systems and the impacts of agricultural intensification and earthquakes on groundwater.

Helen grew up in Britain and lives in Christchurch. She enjoys water-based recreation on the Ōtākaro/Avon River and other Canterbury waterways.


Cailin Richardson-Hall

Cailin has a role as an Outdoor Educator in Ōtautahi, and has a strong connection to our environment. Cailin would love to help develop actions to sustain our environment and waterways for future generations to come. She supports the Zone Committee’s vision for its urban waterways to be healthy and for its communities to have a potable supply of untreated groundwater into the future.

Oscar Bloom - Youth Representative and Chair

Oscar is a student at the University of Canterbury, studying law and media and communications. He is a member of the Regional Leadership, Climate and Community Resilience Committee and was also previously a member of our Youth Rōpū.


Rūnanga representatives

Arapata Reuben - Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga

Arapata has strong historical family ties with Christchurch waterways. His great-great-great grandfather Te Muru was a Kaitiaki (guardian) for the Heathcote/Opawaho River.

Arapata and his family, who live in Tuahiwi, still have a deep sense of belonging with the natural environment and its ability to nourish whānau.

Arapata is currently employed with Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu as the Kāiarahi Whakapapa in the Whakapapa Unit.

Vacant - Te Taumutu Rūnanga


Amber Moke - Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke - Deputy Chair

Amber Moke (Ngāi Tahu, Tainui) is multi-disciplinary with experience in visual communications and project support to a range of organisations, community groups and industries. She is currently assisting in research towards a Science for Technological Innovation National Science Challenge (SfTI) exploring Clean Water Technology (CWT) for Freshwater Wellbeing. She is also learning how to weave (raranga) and maintain the side projects while being a mum of two in Ōhinehou Lyttelton.

Christchurch City Council appointment

  • Cr Mark Peters

Selwyn District Council appointment

  • Cr Phil Dean

Environment Canterbury appointment

  • Cr Greg Byrnes

Get in touch

Murray Griffin — Water Zone Committee Facilitator  027 705 4798

Nathan Dougherty — Zone Delivery Lead    027 224 7165

Zone Implementation Programmes

Zone Implementation Programmes - or ZIPs - were developed when Water Zone Committees were established. These bits of work followed the adoption of the Canterbury Water Management Strategy and aimed to provide overarching goals for water management in the ten different water zones of Waitaha/Canterbury. 

While we may have moved on in terms of our priorities in each zone, ZIPs remain the foundation of the work we do.

View the Christchurch West Melton Zone Implementation Programme (PDF File, 21.6MB).

Zone committee key resources 

Download key documents developed by the committee, and view meeting minutes, agendas and presentations: 

Email newsletters

The committee has an email newsletter, which sends zone news, columns from the committee chair, and key events straight to your inbox. Sign up to our mailing list to receive these newsletters.

Advice and resources for farmers 

Staff are available locally throughout the region to provide advice and assistance to farmers.

See information and resources for farmers in the Christchurch West Melton area on the Farmers' Hub page.

Local on-the-ground team

Staff deliver work related to the zone committee's recommendations through an on-the-ground team, also called zone delivery.

See a list of staff working in your area and find out how to contact them.