The Ashburton water zone is bordered by two large braided rivers  the Rakaia and Rangitata — and divided by the Ashburton and Hinds Rivers. It has been extensively modified over the years to create one of the most productive agricultural regions in New Zealand. Three rūnanga consider the Ashburton zone part of their takiwā – Arowhenua, Taumutu and Ngāi Tūāhuriri. The rivers, lakes and the wetlands that once covered large areas of the zone have always been an important place and food basket for Ngāi Tahu.

Ashburton water consents review

Learn more about Environment Canterbury's upcoming review of around 90 resource consents that take surface water or stream depleting groundwater in the Hakatere/Ashburton river catchment.

Action on the ground

Click here to read about the work we are doing on the ground in the Ashburton water zone.