Mayoral Forum

The Canterbury Mayoral Forum is the primary mechanism for local government communication, co-ordination and collaboration in Canterbury.

Its members are the mayors of the 10 territorial authorities in Canterbury and the chair of Environment Canterbury. The Chair is Mayor Sam Broughton (Selwyn District); the Deputy Chair is Mayor Nigel Bowen (Timaru District).

The Mayoral Forum is supported by the Chief Executives Forum, the Canterbury Policy, Corporate and Operations Forums and a permanent secretariat hosted by Environment Canterbury.

The work of regional forums is mandated by the Canterbury Local Authorities' Triennial Agreement.

Visit the Mayoral Forum website for further information about local government collaboration in Canterbury.

Canterbury Mayoral Forum 2019-2022

Pictured: Canterbury Mayoral Forum, 3 Feb 2020 – L to R: Craig Mackle (Kaikōura District), Jenny Hughey (Environment Canterbury – Chair), Craig Rowley (Waimate District), Dan Gordon (Waimakariri District), Nigel Bowen (Timaru District – Deputy Chair), Neil Brown (Ashburton District), Gary Kircher (Waitaki District), Sam Broughton (Selwyn District – Chair), Lianne Dalziel (Christchurch City), Graham Smith (Mackenzie District), Marie Black (Hurunui District).