Selwyn Waihora water zone committee welcomes three new members

The Selwyn Waihora Water Zone Committee is pleased to introduce three new members, Allanah Kidd, Matt Dodson, and Tayla Nelson Tūhuru.

Water zone committees are made up of people with a wide range of interests in water, who have a strong connection to the zone. The refresh of members ensures a flow of fresh ideas and opinions at the committee table, and that serving members are given a break from a demanding community role.

Meet the new members

Allanah Kidd

Allanah Kidd

Allanah has followed a varied career in environmental management and corporate sustainability which included overseas roles, some time at the United Nations, and a particular focus on climate change. 

She now works for the agricultural cooperative Ravensdown in a corporate responsibility position. 

Allanah wants to see improved outcomes for water quality, food production, climate change and biodiversity. She lives in rural Canterbury with a young family and in her spare time, she enjoys riding horses and getting out in the natural environment - or where possible, combining the two.

Matt Dodson

Matt Dodson 

Matt is a hydrogeologist with more than ten years of experience working in local government and providing information for policy development.

Through his work, he’s become familiar with the Selwyn Waihora zone and spends a lot of time in the area for recreational purposes such as riding the rail trail.

Matt was a technical lead for part of the Waimakariri Zone Implementation Plan Addendum process.

He has a long-held interest in water and its effective management and is looking forward to being more actively involved.

Tayla Nelson Tuhuru

Tayla Nelson-Tūhuru

Tayla’s awa is the Arahura River on Te Tai Poutini/West Coast as Ngāti Waewae. She also has whakapapa to Rāpaki with Ngāti Wheke.

Her interest in local water management has been driven by her holistic views on the ‘wellness’ of water – and how that reflects in our wellbeing of ourselves.

Tayla is currently studying Environmental Management at Lincoln University, majoring in Water Management. This is providing her with good knowledge of the Resource Management Act, Mana ō te wai, and multiple Iwi Management plans. She’s also taken a liking to coastal and marine biodiversity aspects, such as keystone and native species.

Tayla has several hobbies including marching and volunteering cleaning up Whakaraupō/Lyttelton Harbour and helping with riparian planting in the area.

The Selwyn Waihora Water Zone Committee is a joint committee made up of community members, rūnanga and local councils. Find out more on our about the Selwyn Waihora zone committee.