Selwyn Waihora Water Zone Committee

The Selwyn Waihora Water Zone Committee is a joint committee of Selwyn District Council, Christchurch City Council and Environment Canterbury.

It is in the rohe of Wairewa, Rāpaki, Taumutu, Tūāhuriri, Koukourarata and Ōnuku rūnanga.

What does the Selwyn Waihora Water Zone Committee do?

The committee works with community members and an on-the-ground team made up of Environment Canterbury staff to implement water management work programmes in the Selwyn Waihora area.

Stay updated:

Selwyn Waihora Water Zone Committee members

Community members

Matt Dodson — Chair

Matt is a hydrogeologist with 10-plus years of experience working in local government and providing information for policy development. Matt is familiar with the Selwyn Te Waihora zone and often visits the zone for recreational opportunities. Matt was a technical lead for part of the Waimakariri Zone Implementation Plan Addendum process.

Allanah Kidd — Deputy Chair

Allanah has a Master's degree in environmental management and is familiar with the Resource Management Act and the principles and processes in place for managing natural resources in New Zealand. Allanah lives in rural Canterbury with her husband and son and has a particular interest in long-term water quality and management of the local environment.

Helen Troy

Helen Troy is currently undertaking a Master's in Applied Science at Lincoln University. She has extensive business experience both in New Zealand and overseas. Helen resides in the zone with her main links associated to Lincoln University.

James Booker

James Booker has a Bachelor of Agriculture with a Master's in Applied Science majoring in farm management. He was part of the Kellogg Rural Leadership Programme and a New Zealand representative at the international Young Farmers summit in France. James is Southern Pastures' Canterbury Regional Manager and has been involved with a leadership team making decisions on farming practice for dairy farms over 2000ha in the zone.

Khan McKay

Khan whakapapas to Ngāi te Ruahikihiki hapū and Ngāti Moki marae. He is currently attending Riccarton High school and is also a kotahi council member, Selwyn District Youth Council member, Kaitiakitanga Portfolio member and rangatahi advocate for Waikēkēwai restoration project for Taumutu.

He has undertaken cultural monitoring for Boffa Miskell as a contractor with a particular focus on wāhi tapu, wāhi taonga, and mahinga kai.

Simon Bryant

Simon a self-employed farmer with previous experience as a design engineer in the mining sector in Australia, with a focus on runoff and stormwater quality control.

He grew up in the Selwyn Zone and has experience farming in the high-country and on the plains.

Tayla Nelson-Tūhuru

Tayla is at Lincoln University studying a Bachelor’s degree in Environmental Management. She has experience working in Resource Management Act planning, mana whenua, and education. Tayla resides in Selwyn and has a particular interest in mana whenua representation and kaitiakitanga in taiao mahi. Tayla has whakapapa to Kāi Tahu.

Alice Docking — Youth Representative

Alice is a co-chair of the Environment Canterbury Youth Rōpū and is a Youth Representative on Environment Canterbury’s Regional Leadership, Climate and Community Resilience Committee. She holds a Degree in Environmental Management and is currently undertaking her Masters in Planning at Lincoln University while also studying Te Reo Māori.

Rūnanga representatives

  • Les Wanhalla  - Te Taumutu Rūnanga
  • Karaitiana Taiuru -  Te Rūnanga o Koukourarata
  • Caine Tauwhare - Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke
  • Vacant - Ōnuku Rūnanga 
  • Vacant - Wairewa Rūnanga
  • Vacant - Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga 

Council appointments

  • Selwyn District Council - Cr Sophie McInnes
  • Christchurch City Council - Marie Pollisco

Environment Canterbury appointment

  • Cr Vicky Southworth

Get in touch

Jaimee Grant — Zone Facilitator 027 220 2694

Stephen Bragg  — Tangata Whenua Facilitator     027 487 3892 

Zone committee key resources

Download key documents developed by the committee, and view meeting minutes, agendas and presentations:

Email newsletters

The committee has an email newsletter, which sends zone news, columns from the committee chair, and key events straight to your inbox. Sign up to our mailing list to receive these newsletters.

Advice and resources for farmers 

Staff are available locally throughout the region to provide advice and assistance to farmers.

See information and resources for farmers on the Farmers' Hub page.

Local on-the-ground team 

Staff deliver work related to the zone committee's recommendations through an on-the-ground team, also called zone delivery.

See a list of staff working in your area and find out how to contact them.