The Banks Peninsula water zone is made up of eroded volcanic domes that have been breached by the sea. Its catchments are short, steep and prone to flash flooding. The peninsula is reliant on rainfall to keep the creeks running and storage tanks and ponds full. Groundwater resources are limited and every summer settlements such as Akaroa experience water restrictions. It has always been an important place and food basket for Ngai Tahu. Four rūnanga are present on Banks Peninsula – Te Hapu ō Ngāti Wheke/Rāpaki, Te Rūnanga o Koukourarata, Te Rūnanga o Ōnuku and Te Rūnanga o Wairewa.

Zone news and events

Latest zone stories, videos and newsletters.

What does the Banks Peninsula water zone committee do?

The committee works with the community, councils, rūnanga and other partners to deliver the targets of the Canterbury Water Management Strategy in the zone. Sign up to our mailing list for updates.

Zone Implementation Programmes

Zone Implementation Programmes or ZIPs were developed in the early stages of the zone committees' existence, following the adoption of the Canterbury Water Management Strategy.

While we may have moved on in terms of our priorities in each zone, ZIPs remain the foundation of the work we do. You can download the Banks Peninsula ZIP and addendum using the buttons below.